Moana Surfrider’s Beach Bar

8 Jan

I don’t usually blog about my regular weekly gigs, but tonight was different.  Before I started setting up, somebody from a wedding party (at the Beach House Restaurant, behind the stage I play on) came up to me and requested “Somewhere over the Rainbow” for the newly weds.  He gave me a very generous tip, so of course played that song first dedicating it to “Mr & Mrs. Heart”.  Yes, Heart!  Isn’t that a cool last name?!

Well the requests didn’t stop coming all night.  From time to time someone from the wedding party would come down from the restaurant, throw a tip in my koa bowl, and make a request… again, and again, and again.  I didn’t mind… I love taking requests!

Three hours later, I announced my last song, played it, said one last congrats to the newly weds, and started breaking down.  In the middle of breaking down, another person from the wedding asked me for just one more song.  Unfortunately, the hotel does not allow any more music past 11pm.  So I had to explain to them, “I would… but the hotel doesn’t allow it due to sound complaints… etc.”  The person understood and left.

I thought to myself… “man these guys gave me a lot of tips!  I could at least play them one last song.”  So I packed up my stuffed and walked over to the the restaurant where they were and offered to give them one last song unplugged.  They loved the idea… Mr. & Mrs. Heart had one more dance on their Big Day :)

Congrats to Mr. & Mrs. Heart from Australia, thanks to their friend Wade for taking these pics!

5 Responses to “Moana Surfrider’s Beach Bar”

  1. norman soderberg December 8, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    right on brother…

  2. robhur December 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    and that is what makes you a great person. good thing you had 2 sisters growing up to teach you about compassion =)

    • randyallenmusic December 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

      Yes having two sisters keeping me in check my whole life really helped! Thanks rosa… love you :)

  3. aurora ubaldo December 14, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    That’s right!!! the couple will always treasure that moment as you sang their requested song…Yeah…
    love you….mom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

